Poets logo

Mind games

Pick ‘em up to never put ‘em down.

By Kali MailhotPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
11
Mind games
Photo by Carol Kennedy on Unsplash

How annoying, and typical!

You visit me in a dream again.

Where the love I have for you

Is reciprocal.

But I never loved you, you see,

Or anyone for that matter,

Like I do in these dreams.

You, wise Joker, I spot in unsuspecting places,

Between my thoughts scattered.

It’s your surprise too it seems.

As if you were saying, “funny,”

“I live right over there,

It’s like you’ve come to visit me.”

From there, you pull it out from me.

Claiming something nobody can,

Something sacred of my heart.

So this dreamed-of love, we lay.

Arms encircled, smiles splayed,

Whispering to and forth little secrets,

we’d forever held to that day.

But then - this dream, however nice,

Wills chaos, entropy, up to rise.

You hoist me up and out of our haze

Explaining that we’re going on a heist.

You, the meddlesome boy from younger times,

Exist in the depths of my mind -

So deep, that I trust any scheme

you propose to me without malign.

So, off we go into the throes,

Of great adventures all unknown.

Or so I thought but it turned out then,

We were at the neighbor lot of my home.

“Greetings” from the garage door ajar,

A sweet family they surely are.

A father with his two boys,

You tied them up. And stole their car.

Looked at me with love and craze,

Said it’s our way to best of days.

We hopped in, and crashed into

A chair where my dad stuck to.

There he watched, as if to say

This situation’s not becoming of me.

Looking sad, but not unlovingly,

Nor with shock, but concern for me.

I cast back, it’s not that bad,

don’t you worry, I love him, Dad.

And so drove away we did,

hearts alight, spirits kindred

Into a sky of journeys sewn

Among far lands of galactic stone.

This is where things get darker,

If you don’t think they already have.

We turn into board game markers

Travelling intergalactic paths.

I follow you from planet to planet ,

But from the limited gameboard view,

I can’t explore more than what’s granted,

But I can see how it pulls in you.

I sit on top a meteorite waiting,

For you to come out and join me again.

But you never do, your marker stays -

And gets smaller and smaller then,

I remember you are nothing to me

And maybe I am nothing too.

As I awake, This dream reminds me,

How we are specks of stardust glued.

Until next time then,

my recurring dream guest friend,

On our next chaotic means

to seeking distant ends.

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Kali Mailhot

hobby poet always looking for new things to write about.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Disturbing, but fantastic, too - nice work!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very interesting. I had to read it twice to get the gist of it. Well done!!! Thank you for joining Vocal + Assist.

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Wow third of great! I love the imagery, especially at the end. Great job!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Poppy about a year ago

    This was so captivating!!! You made me feel like I dreamt it too

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This I great, incredibly wold and creative. Well done.

  • Whoaaaa! This was mindblowing and a hell of a wild ride. Very beautifully written! I loved it!

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Damn what a wild ride of a dream!

  • I thought that was a hellraiser game cube, great words, and an excellent challenge entry. If you are on Facebook please come and join us in Vocal_Assist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.