Poets logo

Miles

By CL FisherPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Miles
Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

So many miles.

So many more.

I'm leaving behind

What I've left before.

I'm looking for something

I haven't yet found.

I don't know what I seek,

But it's not been around.

So many places

I've lived, loved, and left,

Losing touch with my roots,

Leaving my Self bereft.

If I knew what I sought,

Could I be rooted now?

Will I ever find rest?

Will I ever know how?

Is it just my soul's urge

To seek things beyond sight?

Ache for things I don't know,

Never feel all is right?

Will I know when I find it?

Will it feel different then?

Do I wish for that day?

Will that day be the end?

If I don't know my prize,

how can I know the way?

Have I passed it before

In my urge not to stay?

But my soul, how it pulls,

"Just a bit more," it beckons.

"We can finally rest

And put down our weapons.

Where our walls may come down,

And our light cast its glow.

In our heart we'll know others

That our mind doesn't know.

They will sing the same song

And share our convictions.

We'll work hand-in-hand

To heal our afflictions."

Could the day truly come

Where I'm seen, felt, and heard?

Could I really embrace

This "community" word?

There's a tune in my heart

That's been sung all along,

And I can't help but listen

For that place to belong.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

CL Fisher

Artist. Carpenter. Writer. Herbalist. Permaculturist. Linguist. Yogi. Runner. Singer. Dancer. Dog adorer. Music obsessor. Plant worshiper. Moon watcher. Dirt lover. Frequent mover.

I aim to lead with my heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.