Poets logo

Midnight Blue

The Color of Fantasy

By Naomi TyhurstPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Shades of Blue- by Fox Bandit

Is it so odd, to thrive in nighttime and fantasy?

To prefer mystery and darkness, to daylight and reality?

When I think of the earliest memory I have in my mind,

It's of dancing in doll-gowns, singing loud and unrefined.

But as typical for a young child that memory might seem,

That earliest memory I have was, in fact, just a dream.

I live as I dream, and dream as I live, in the fantasy hue,

As distant and dark with silvery stars in the Midnight Blue.

Of all the moments and times I could have recalled in my life,

I wonder, why it started with a dream I had one night?

Before I could read, I fell for fairy tales and mystery,

Adoring the magic, the mystical, the sorcery,

And since no one read to my sister and I to bed,

I'd spin tales of enchantment to her for us instead.

The stories were never finished, nor morally deep,

But our imaginations were entertained until we could sleep.

And I lived as I dream, and dreamed as I live in the fantasy hue,

As distant and dark with those silvery stars in the Midnight Blue.

Out of all the moments and times that could delight,

I wonder why, I loved best, the stories at night?

When the stories and scenes grew too much in my head,

I began drawing and writing what I viewed instead,

And when I ran out of stories, I hungered for more,

So I gathered the books full of mythology and lore.

The tombs on my pillows were my escapes until dawn,

And I'd read and I'd read until I felt truly gone.

Because I live as I dream, and dream as I live, in that fantasy hue,

And I danced with silvery stars in the deep Midnight Blue.

Out of all the times that my heart felt the most light,

It could only be when I read straight through the night.

Now more often than not, I retreat into dreams of my mind,

Where I act and I direct with the scenes I designed.

I love deep colors, dark colors, lush, rich and true,

But even now, I am most connected with the fantasy Midnight Blue.

Though I no longer need to escape to other worlds because of you,

I still paint my wishes and dreams in dark shades of blue,

For I dream as I live, to share my lives from that fantasy hue,

And I bring back those silver stars from the deep Midnight Blue.

Because of all the times when my purpose felt most right,

Were the times when shared the stories, I once created at night.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Naomi Tyhurst

Art is meant to be seen and stories are meant to be heard. I create, because I want to share the dreams playing in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.