Poets logo

Midnight at the palace hotel

Decisions, decision

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Midnight at the palace hotel
Photo by Robert Gourley on Unsplash

Be in the lobby a midnight said the text,

My first thought. This is way past my bedtime.

I don’t know the guy. But the name sounds familiar somehow but what does he want from me.

Is it dangerous? Why do I feel all excited?

Midnight at the palace hotel,

A long time since I last was here for a party, I think.

A wedding, in fact. I was bridesmaid, hated every minute of it.

Wearing that, disaster dress, all in some pastel pink.

It made me sick. And at the end of the evening, I was sick on the dress.

The Palace hotel

hy on earth not? There is parking in front but it can’t be busy in the middle of November

And why on earth not? There is parking in front but it can’t be busy in the middle of November

I will be safe. Lot of lights at the reception and a barman,

Why on earth not? I really am intrigued. Who is that bloke, with the strange name?

Still not sure why he knows me. Never been on telly or in the local paper,

Never done anything out of the ordinary.

So why am I here. Is my life so boring?

Thursday at the palace hotel

I got to be in school tomorrow by 7 30, staff meeting or rather another health and safety training.

Should I or not. I get dressed in dark clothes,

Jeans, jacket and black beanie. My hair fits under the hat

And all it needs is my fingers combing through them.

Once I get to the palace hotel. A bit late even here

But the bar is still alight. I wait a bit before walking up to the reception.

And tell them my name, Straight through to the bar

They are waiting for you.

Should I run now. Is it too late?

But I do my hair trick, add an extra layer of lipstick,

Put on a smile, and open the door,

Happy birthday, shout about 25 people.

I can see my sister, my parents, some friends from sixth form.

What??

In all the confusion I had forgotten and then I laugh aloud,

Welcome to my thirties.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.