Poets logo

Middle of the Night

Ode to a Crackhead

By Gigi WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
That's seen some things, man, and knows some stuff too.

Had me a farm, and I tried to grow tomaters

Couldn't grow a 'mater to save my life

Went a-gint the law, started growing marywanna

Now half the damn county's gettin'

Higher than a kite

THOUGHT I SAW BOB MARLEY

WATCHIN' GATOR

HAD AN EIGHT TRACK PLAYIN'

BEST OF CHARLIE PRIDE

TRUTH BE TOLD

I WISH I COULD REMEMBER

WHAT I'M DOIN' IN HERE

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT

Now I'm scattered like a jig saw puzzle

But you can't take it with you

To the other side

Had my fun

And, let me tell ya mister,

Lots of folks didn't

And they never even tried....(fuck 'em)

THOUGHT I SAW GEORGE JONES

SMOKIN' CRACK WITH TONY BENNETT

MAKIN' LOVE TO TANYA TUCKER

PLAYIN' TWISTER ON THE FLOOR

TRUTH BE TOLD

I'D GIVE IT UP TOMORROW

IS THERE ANY FUCKIN' WAY

I CAN SCORE A LIL MORE

THOUGHT I SAW BOB MARLEY

WATCHIN' GATOR

HAD AN 8 TRACK PLAYER

BEST OF CHARLIE PRIDE

TRUTH BE TOLD I WISH

I COULD REMEMBER

WHAT I'M DOIN' IN HERE

IN THE MIDDLE THE NIGHT

(hey, keef, I dropped me hypaduhmic)

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT

(where is my chore boy, anyhow)

IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT

(Richard Pryor! I set myself on fire!)

IN THE MIDDLE...OF THE...NIGHT.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Gigi Williams

I started creating the moment I was pushed forth into this world. I can't breathe without doing something creative. Even if it means I have to just go outside at 3 AM and scream, "HAVE AT IT!". Makes the inner Walkin dance a bit. That's me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.