Poets logo

Mi Luna.

Love.

By On the edge of consciousnessPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

You gave me the best of you.

Your best years, your best efforts, your best you, I received.

The best of you was still a child who didn't know how to love, she didn't have a template to use. She just learned to survive.

She taught me how to survive.

She mistook attachment for love. That's not love baby.

You did the best you could with what you were given and in my heart you will always live but I can't stay in your beautiful prison any longer.

You gave me the best of you, and the best of me was given to you.

I gave you the best I had, I gave you all of me and left my vessel empty.

I watched as you took more and more, all that I was.

You didn't mean to, you thought this was love.

I thought it was too.

You are my ride or die. I was yours too.

I wanted to be yours forever because you taught me I belonged to you.

You taught me I was for you.

You taught me you knew best.

You taught me it was your way or the highway.

You taught me to be lost without you, and I am.

You kept me right next to your heart until you didn't recognise me.

When you let me go I fell apart.

Still I loved you.

Still I tried to put my pieces back together using you as glue.

You created your saviour.

You created your shelter within me.

You made me your safe place.

And how I wish I could be.

I don't think I'll ever love someone the way I love you.

But I have to love better. Better than I have loved you.

I have to love me now.

I am not a saviour.

I am not yours.

Your way is not best.

I need to fly.

I hope you will forgive me.

I hope you will understand.

I hope that you find healing and see yourself for the beautiful soul that you are.

Because I always did.

You are my moon. You always will be.

And wherever I go, there you will be.

Shining like you always have.

Breathtaking.

I'm so sorry for everything you went through, I wish I could take it from you.

I tried my best to take your hell and made it mine so that you may live in heaven.

I tried to create heaven for you.

My intention was to save you from it all.

But I couldn't.

I'm sorry.

And I know now that it was never my responsibility.

I love you, my moon.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

On the edge of consciousness

Welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.