Poets logo

#metoo

We All Have Stories...

By Hannah MendenhallPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

we all have stories that we do not wish to tell to strangers

but we do want someone to listen to us

just sit and let me tell a story

I can't stay silent any longer and I've been silent for far too long

it's physically and emotionally and mentally taking its toll on me

I will not go into a tug of war with you

my dear, I'm tired of you always being around

whenever I want to go out and I meet your eyes across from room

I feel like I'm collapsing from the outside inward

I don't need a shoulder to cry on but I want someone to listen for once

and not make me feel bad about having genuine feelings

I want to be completely open for once and not have any judgments

I thought you could be that for me, but instead, you hurt me like no one has in my entire life

how could you do that to me?

I thought we were close

I thought we actually had something, but now looking back on it all and replaying it over and over in my head

I can't believe how stupid I was to believe you and actually allow myself to fall for you

your charming smile, good looks, but not cocky or overconfident

just a genuinely good guy and I loved that about you

you made me feel safe and secure and I haven't felt that in a very long time

but of course, you knew that about me since I basically told you everything

I don't know how you managed to pull it off

you had me so tightly wrapped around your fingers but you were the one holding me down captive

I was usually so good about being able to tell the good guys from the bad guys

you had my family and friends fooled

you had me fooled

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.