Poets logo

Messages in the Rain

Whisper to me

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Messages In the Rain

In the drizzling rain I stand squinting,

Hoping to see through the raindrops falling.

Some sign of you two approach from far away,

Coming to visit me on this gloomy rainy day.

Wet heavy grass before, gray clouds overhead,

Breezes tell stories as some have said.

Whispers, there be many beyond the back fence,

Perhaps some shadow, someone waiting for consent.

Naked and tall stand sentinels all ‘round,

Striped of their clothing, bare from top to ground.

They guard me from going too far to find,

Who might be those two I seek, two so kind.

Emotions swell within me those I cannot control,

Causing me to cry, to shutter, to lean forward bending low.

To see them once more isn’t possible at this time,

But carried by tomorrow’s winds, I’ll cross that line.

Play me a melody, you know the one that we shared,

One that will comfort me and my soul if you dare.

For today I need to see through the drizzling misty rain,

Into that place, my future, my place ordained.

There weren’t any words that were left unsaid,

The day they left me feeling impending dread.

But to a far better place, they have slipped away,

And remain there together until our reunion day.

Those of whom I recant in a few lines nothing more,

Are those who I walked with decades heretofore.

My brothers, those who walk with me no longer,

Send messages in the raindrops from over yonder.

For: Astrid

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.