Poets logo

Merrily Life Is But A Dream

but is it

By A.N.TiptonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2022
12
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Am I sleepwalking

through this dream we call life?

What is real or imagined?

I imagine most of what we experience

is the dream,

the mass hypnosis

of viral programming.

What if clocks were designed

to keep us ticking and tocking along,

never to question those twinges we feel?

When the world shifts and bends

outside of our norm,

do our eyes really see the reality of it?

Unused to the oddities

and divergence from normality,

we shuffle forward on numb feet.

I think I fell asleep

around seven years old,

integrating into “normal” society,

realizing that the world

didn’t see the truth as I did.

And so,

I succumbed to the dream,

this thing we call living,

but what if we are really sleeping?

And if so, how do I wake?

Eyes wide open,

yet closed to what could be seen.

Ears hearing, but unable to listen

amidst the hum

of electromagnetic influences.

Existing between multiple realities

fluctuating between frequencies

in our waking dreams.

Merrily,

or perhaps not,

life is but a dream.

The prompt, merrily life is but a dream, created musings of a philosophical nature existing in this rat-race of life. I invite you to play with this prompt and see what unfurls from your musings.

For more of my work, click here.

© 2022 A. N. Tipton

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.