Poets logo

Mental Illness

A Brutal Description of Mental Illness

By JANENE JORDANPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m the awkwardness that fills the room

When death is mentioned, the fear, the gloom,

I’m the look of pity upon their face,

I’m the outcast from the human race.

I’m the pills you swallow, no “one for all”,

Blue ones to fly and pink ones to fall.

I’m the stench of bodies that lie unwashed.

I’m the nightmares of all your dreams I've squashed.

I’ll steal your family, I'll reject your friends.

I have a beginning but you’ll see no end.

I’m the stigma hung around your neck,

So easy are the lives I wreck.

I’m the vomit when you won’t eat.

I’m the awkward looks down to their feet.

I’m the scars you try to hide.

I’m the thoughts you wish you’d died.

I'm the house you won’t stop cleaning,

“Touch taps 3 times” I know it’s meaning.

I’m the voice inside your head,

That whispers “you’re better off now dead.”

I’m the one who will make you weep.

I’m the one who steals your sleep.

Yes late late at night amongst the stillness,

You can call me Mental illness.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.