Poets logo

Memories of You

In Loving Memory of Mom

By Rebecca KeyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My home is where you lived

And also where you died

These walls have seen my grief

And the many tears I've cried

Flowers adorn the balcony

Where I stood on that last night

Admiring the full moon

While your body lost its fight

I came in and stood beside you

As you took your very last breath

All alone, I stood there

Witnessing your death

But this won't be a house of mourning

And sorrow will not reign

I choose not to waste my life

Mired in this pain

I won't dwell on what was lost

Grief cannot rule here anymore

I'll remember your smile, instead

Each time I walked through the door

This home will be where laughter lives

And where my dreams are chased

Where happiness is pursued

And hope is never erased

The atmosphere will be cheerful

Just like when you were here

The smiles, laughter, and fun

Will far outweigh the tears

My visitors can feel it

There's something in the air

It's the remnant of your spirit

The part of you that lingers here

It's the last place you were alive

Not just where you died

It's more than just a dwelling place

It's all the memories held inside

I hear echos of “I love you”

Your last words to me

And I know that you're still here

Though you're no longer seen

You'll never be forgotten here

I know this one thing to be true

This home is permeated

With the memories of you

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Key

I am a free spirit chasing my dream of becoming a successful writer. I have autism spectrum disorder, which I believe allows me to see the world in a different way than most people do. I credit my creativity to this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.