Poets logo

Melody to Mourn

A shanty for ye sirens below

By Makenna BoltonPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1

Come yonder far away

Run lost and scared this day

Pure droplets must decide

I'll brace the storm inside

My withered hearts defeat

Till love returns to me

Subtract the wisest few

Plucked from the masses stew

Grasp hold the sand

You've reached the land

Embrace the weeping tree

Who cries the siren's sea

Till love returns to me

Ballad
1

About the Creator

Makenna Bolton

Hi! My name is Makenna Bolton, I am 20 years old. I grew up in Wisconsin and in June I graduated from the American Musical and Dramatic Academy in LA; with an Associates in Dance and Theatre. As well as writing, I love acting, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    This was very poignant and beautiful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.