Poets logo

Meet you

A conversation with myself

By Andrew WallacePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

You’ve been waiting to meet me.

It’s nice to meet you.

What should you call me?

How about yourself?

I prefer myself.

Does that sound selfish?

A bit, but perhaps that’s appropriate given the circumstances.

You always know just what to say don’t you.

Rarely at a loss for words.

I’ve always admired that about you.

Me too.

It’s been nice chatting with you.

Likewise.

Ugh. I like that too!

How we say likewise instead of you too?

Yes, it’s so non Midwest yet proper sounding.

Politely superior to you.

I don’t know if that’s how I’d put it.

Maybe not you, but one of us has to.

Has to what?

Be selfish.

Oh.

Yes!

No.

What?

I don’t like that. It doesn’t sound nice.

Well we can be nice too! I like nice, I simply like myself too.

But you aren’t nice.

Of course I am, and you are too!

Can you be nice and selfish?

Certainly anyone who has been has been at some point.

Well they are them and we are you and I.

Why do you hate us?

I don’t.

You do.

I do.

Kiss the bride.

Wow. Can you...

Not?

...

So why do you hate us?

I don’t know... I was wondering. Do you?

If I did I’d forget.

Perhaps I forgot.

Well that’s what you get for not thinking of yourself a lot.

I’m sure that’s not why.

I sure that it must be.

Who can hate themselves when everyone else is illustrious?

I could.

That’s the spirit.

Just remember that compared to some you’re crusty.

I thought you’d make me feel better.

No that’s your job. I make us feel superior.

I see. So I am the healer.

Yes.

And you are the dealer.

Exactly.

I am the teacher.

Maybe.

And you are the warrior.

I do like the sound of that.

I thought that we might.

Well. It’s getting late.

Oh yes. You know me, you don’t have to say it.

But I’d rather say it first anyways. I love you.

I’m in love with us too.

Goodnight.

You too.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Wallace

@andrewnotlogan for Instagram and Twitter.

I’m hoping to profit from my existential dread. Maybe if I write something ~you~ find worth while my life will somehow transcend my mortal body and I’ll live on forever... but probably not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.