Poets logo

Meet Me on The Other Side

Longlasting Grief

By Tommy BallardPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4

Sometimes I still forget you're not here.

When I heard about you, for a moment the melodic beating of my heart ceased

The world kept spinning underfoot

An emotionless treadmill, pushing life onwards when I just wanted time to stop.

I could never forgive it for that.

I fear that each extra moment without you that it forces time to pass

Could be one more moment closer to when I start to forget the laughs

Upon my mind weighed heavy grief, but now it's just part of the landscape

I hope you'll be there to greet me when I gaze upon those pearly gates

I look at your picture a lot, it would break me again if I reached you there and didn't recognize your face

surreal poetrysad poetry
4

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and made me so emotional. Loved your poem!

  • C.S LEWIS6 months ago

    This is great work you can join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.