Poets logo

Medusa’s Love

Don’t turn to stone

By Andre The FirstPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
13
Unsplash image by deepigoyal

Medusa was there for me

For as long as I could remember.

She was there to caution me

To not make the same mistakes

Because falling in love would always lead me to heartbreak.

She warned me to stay away from love

Because she hated the part where my heart would break.

With a series of heartache

And people playing on my heart strings

I didn’t want any more flings.

Medusa was right; it was time to cast love aside

Because love was nothing like the stories described.

Medusa tried to tell me love was indeed not a blessing

And I was sure I had learned my lesson.

Medusa said love is a game only fools play,

I guess that’s why everybody was playing Dre.

But no more, I was done with that game

And my only focus was to rise to fame.

It didn’t last long because of love’s advances.

Tell me, who doesn’t believe in second chances?

Medusa, that’s who

And she was right there, in my ear.

“Love is not what it appears!”

“Hadn’t love made that clear?”

But I didn’t care!

If I don’t experiment with love, how can I ever understand it?

This time around, I had to commit.

No more half in, half out

With Medusa in my ear,

Leaving me paralyzed in fear.

For she indeed wasn’t what she appeared.

She was just a shadow cast by my fears.

inspirational
13

About the Creator

Andre The First

Beginning my writing journey and hoping to inspire others to follow their dreams!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Michael Vexx2 years ago

    THIS WAS AMAZING! SO BEAUTIFUL ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.