Poets logo

Media

The Love of Music

By A. R. AmbrosiPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember the shine of compact discs

Using them as makeup mirrors

Applying lipstick with giggling friends

While another CD

Blasted out music from the stereo

I remember the warning

"Do not touch the lens"

I remember the smell of warm metal

When my CD player would heat up

From playing for too long

I remember burning through batteries

So many batteries

I remember the ludicrous hilarity

Of the statement "anti-skip"

And I remember further back

I remember the plastic smell of cassette tapes

The tension of the eject button

The satisfying click of the tape popping out

I remember the whir of the reel

When the music went silent

I remember the

"One side must be longer to preserve the continuity"

I remember the tape getting twisted inside the casing

And being a conspiracy theorist over "backmasking"

I remember exactly which ink pen

Worked best to wind the tape back into its casing

I remember the heartbreak

Of a tape deck eating a tape beyond repair

And I remember further back

The satisfying look of a stack

Of multi-coloured 8-track tapes

The faint squeak of reel-to-reel

When the music faded

I remember having to open up the casing

And crazy glue that little foil piece

That holds the two ends of tape together

I remember the dreaded "black tar"

That stopped the tape from sliding into the player

I remember carefully cleaning the heads

With rubbing alcohol

So the music wouldn't

Bleed through from the other side

And I remember further back

I remember the hum of the record player

When I would turn it on

I remember placing the needle

On the edge of the record

And loving the sound of crackles

Before the music started

I remember the little, plastic

Adapter for playing 45s

I remember the unrivaled

Warmth and richness

Of vinyl records

But mostly I remember

My deep and unabiding

Love and respect for music

And the magical little devices

That brought it to me

vintage
Like

About the Creator

A. R. Ambrosi

I like to write, if that makes me a writer, then rock on!

I started writing as a child because I ran out of stuff to read. So, I only write stuff that I like. If you like it too, awesome! Enjoy! ^_^

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.