Poets logo

Meadow

A Poem

By No? No. No. Non. YARO. Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

One summer evening,

in the meadow I lay,

a breathtaking youth

set foot in my gaze.

I espy his beauty,

his bizarre atmosphere,

that he bestows

when no one is near.

What he doesn’t know,

what he doesn’t see,

is that I am here,

beholding he;

For I am a shadow,

hiding, tucked away

conceiving his love

in the meadow I lay.

Disguised in tall grass,

shyly setting my gaze

upon the astonishing beauty

that is blind of my ways.

As I watched him that evening,

a thought entered my head.

''This is the soul that I want to be wed.''

I yearn to approach.

I yearn to concede.

The copious love

that I have for thee.

But as I brood over

this decision, my need,

is effort for nothing,

for he’ll never love me.

This matter repeated.

Many times before.

And it never procures,

It just leaves a sore.

I close my eyes,

and open them.

And as I look up,

my eyes meet his.

My chest, it caves!

My heart, it beats!

Pure panic takes over,

for he has caught me.

I stammer a bit.

My face is flushed.

He holds his hand out,

“May I help you up?”

We were acquainted,

and spoke for months.

As I now reminisce,

I see we were in love.

We laughed all day!

We danced all night.

We were almost always

in each-other’s sight.

Today I awoke,

beside my dove.

And here I sit,

thinking of his love.

I gaze at his skin.

His beautiful hair.

His closed eyes,

Do I dare?

To open them up?

I musn’t pry,

and so I sit,

right where he lie.

Days they pass,

and months go by.

My love! my love!

Please, open your eyes...

I beg and I plead.

But to no avail.

My love won’t wake up,

as I rot in this jail.

Seasons come and go.

My youth is taken.

Still, I sit here,

waiting for my love to awaken.

And so I wait,

to repeat the day,

I captured his eye,

In the meadow I lay.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

No? No. No. Non. YARO.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.