Poets logo

ME

The best me

By Zahrah BlomPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
ME
Photo by Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

Spread open

give you all of me,

I see

Reaching my zen

talking to the highest me

SELF

The greatest version

I wanna be

Complete

So that I may be

the truest me

Believe

so that you may see

the best parts of me

Rise high

be the best high

Rough

No smooth ride

And when it gets hard

I flip the switch,

transparency

Let you see all there is to see

ME

Forever evolving

Forever growing

Watch my stages

Be my favorite critique

Given me the strength,

have created the space,

helped me unpack

and peel off layers of masks

to get to the core

that is

ME

because me

is who you want to see

Who you wanna be

with

eternally

Soul mirrored

is for many the goal

But for us the goal

is just to strive

Make it bigger than us

a Legacy

that’s meant for more

than birth to survive

Pave the way,

for their struggles

be paled compared to ours

And may we hold

all of the sins

on our backs like

scars of a whip

May they never

have to endure the pain

And that’s not to say

that they won’t live life

Full of obstacles and struggles

It just ...

it won’t be the same

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Zahrah Blom

Afro-Indigenous

NYC

Mother

Artist

Writer

Creator

Facilitator

Seer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.