Poets logo

Me

It's okay to be uncomfortable

By Isis Lyons Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I’ve learned to be comfortable even through the uncomfortable.

If I really had to name something that makes me comfortable,

It simply would be me.

I’ve learned to be the ground when everything around me is on fire.

I’ve learned to be the oxygen when everyone else is suffocating.

I’ve learned to let go of control,

I’ve learned to understand nothing is meant to be “perfect”.

Everything is here to simply be,

Everyone is free to be what they desire to be.

This is the beauty of life,

This is the power we hold.

I choose to be bold.

I choose to overcome anything that stands in my way of happiness.

I don’t chase after the people, things or places I haven’t experienced yet,

Instead I choose to live in bliss.

I choose to appreciate what I have instead of reminiscing about the things I can get.

I’m comfortable with just this.

I’m comfortable in my own skin,

I’m proud of where I’ve been.

I’m proud of how far I’ve come,

I know this poem may seem weird to some.

But at this point other people’s opinions make me numb.

artinspirationalslam poetry
1

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.