Poets logo

Maybe Some Day I Will Make It

A poem

By Sidney SmithPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Maybe Some Day I Will Make It
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Does this look like the face

Of some one who will make it?

Eyes red and full of tears

What have I been fighting for

Through all of these years

I have felt weak

I have felt meek

I have felt at times I couldn’t speak

The stiffness

Hits my chest

As I let out a wail in the darkness

I am rooted in the nest

Stuck as the wings have tried their best

They have not gone anywhere

As I move my body

To see what lies ahead

The fall seems high

And I fear to fly

But still I hope

That some day I will make it

That some day i will gain strength

Pull my wings from the sheath

And take the leap

Look at my age they say

But the battle has been great

For I only know and not they

The sorrows and the pain

The malice and disgrace

That I have faced

And the wings that wish to fly

Full force into embrace

The pain is great

But still I hope that some day

I will make it

That the thoughts in my mind

Will become but a passing of time

And that I will finally

Spread these wings

And fly fly fly

sad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Sidney Smith

A picture tells a thousand words, and a thousand words can paint a beautiful picture.

I have been a writer all of my life. It has been like an anchor for me to release emotions, process ideas, and escape into a world of fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Impressive work! Well written!

  • Thank you ❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Well written 🚔🚘🚞

  • Aubrie Belle 7 months ago

    I love this! Wording is on point

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.