Poets logo

Maybe

But also maybe not.

By Obsidian WordsPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2023
33
Maybe
Photo by Jakub Kriz on Unsplash

I feel it again.

That fog that makes me feel like a version of me,

That's not me.

The weight of unshed tears hangs behind my eyes,

Actors in the theatre waiting for a curtain call.

Was I right to worry?

All this time,

Those good days darkened with the shadows

Of questions like

How long can this last?

When will I darken my own doorstep again?

Which side of the coin is really real?

Why? Always why.

I thought I’d done it all right.

I saw a therapist,

A doctor,

A psychiatrist.

I got pills and pills and pills

All the missing parts of me that I take in the mornings

And wait for them to fade again at night.

It’s been good for a while,

A long while.

So long in fact that

For days I’ve brushed this off as

‘Bad sleep’ or

‘Bad dreams’

Or other bad fucking excuses.

Even now I convince myself

That if I leave the house,

Just get some air,

Take a walk

And it will all get better.

Is there only so much room in me

For a fraction of myself?

Cause every time I seem to win

I’ll lose another way.

The worst part is,

I don’t know what triggered it.

Not this time,

Or any time

And this time it is lasting longer.

Long enough for me to write about it.

Long enough to really start to worry.

The tears burn now,

The frustration makes them more potent.

But I don’t even have it in me to rage

It takes too much energy

To get mad

To scream

To weep at the injustice.

So I guess I will settle into the numb

Wait for a miracle

Hope that the pills will work better soon

Pray that some God will take pity on me.

I just hope it happens before

I forget what the good days were like

It's always harder to fight when you don’t know

The worth of the outcome.

Maybe I’ll cry.

Maybe I will go outside and

Maybe it will all get better.

sad poetry
33

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos7 months ago

    Congratulations to You ☺️On Top story 🥳💜❤️🎉!It already got better for You ! I Wish You Much Love and Light ! it's a painful poem about life You are not alone cause You are important and Your are a star !

  • Ward Norcutt7 months ago

    congratulations on your top story

  • Joe Patterson7 months ago

    Top notch expression. Congratulations on your top story.

  • Amanda Starks7 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!! <3

  • I love it! This is fantastic! 💙Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Antonella Rustica7 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story🧨💞💥

  • I’m so thankful for this today 🙏 you have written the words from my own heart…. waiting for a miracle indeed. I especially loved “It's always harder to fight when you don’t know The worth of the outcome.” Because those words immediately lifted my heart again. I remember the worth of the outcome. I needed those words more than you know… thank you 🤍🙏🕊️

  • Ian Read7 months ago

    As someone who's been here, this hits it exactly. Well done! :)

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    First, congratulations on attaining TOP STORY. You really deserve it. This is excellent and brings me in. I hope things reach a sunnier day for you.

  • Test7 months ago

    No real words. Perfectly done. ust I'm sorry that it is this way 🤍 I wish my cyber gugs would help.Take care 🤍

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    I could feel the weight of your depression in this. SO well written and evocative. I hope that the act of putting it into words helps you to find a better space.

  • k eleanor7 months ago

    This was heavy and well Written! I do hope that you're okay. And congratulations ♥️

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I very understandable portrayal. Well done. But I hope you're ok, also. If not today, then soon.

  • Bradley Ramsey7 months ago

    Very much worthy of a Top Story award, this was fantastic! So many good lines to call out, too many for one comment. I loved the structure as well, the intention behind the length and pace of each line really drove home some of the more painful points. Exquisite work. Of course, I have to imagine it comes from a place of truth, as great art often does. I hope things get better soon.

  • Test7 months ago

    Congratulations on achieving top story status!

  • Trinity H7 months ago

    this is so so so so real

  • Amanda Starks7 months ago

    This was spot on for what I experience with depression. And so, so well written and candid which I really appreciate. You do what is recommended by experts and yet people still suffer. Sure, you have better days, and more of them, but it feels inevitable that another episode will come and your whole life will become a big question mark, and people will wonder "why?" but there is no reason. Depression is a chronic illness for many, and it's very hard to accept that. This here is probably my favorite from the whole poem, as it's something I think is rarely mentioned for people who have depression for long lengths of time. It becomes so exhausting just to try some days! "It takes too much energy To get mad To scream To weep at the injustice" Thank you for sharing your thoughts and troubles. <3 It helps people like me feel less alone!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Maybe I think your poem is amazing, maybe I think your poem is incredible! Maybe, just maybe, it’s both!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Goddamn, this is heavy. "When will I darken my own doorstep again?" "Is there only so much room in me For a fraction of myself?" These lines are stunning, whole poems in and of themselves. Of course, the entire piece is just stunningly written. I know how this feels too. Just perfectly captured. I do hope you are okay.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.