Poets logo

Maybe...

I Should Never Have Been Yours.

By Carol TownendPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Maybe...
Photo by Kristina V on Unsplash

Maybe...

I was a fool for listening to your version of me,

Maybe...

I was stupid for not setting myself free,

Maybe...

You were right; there wasn't anyone who could love me,

Maybe...

I was useless, even for me.

These words you told me,

Landed me in a psychological prison,

Inside my mind,

But now,

I am free to leave your torment in the past,

No shadows of doubt may I cast;

Maybe...

I should never have been yours;

The moment I set you free,

I found life within me.

So, I have no regrets in saying what I said;

I threw away the maybe's the day my new

partner married me,

I now live a life of peace and certainty,

I am free because I found me.

social commentaryMental Healthheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This was extremely powerful and liberating! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.