Poets logo

" May I Mayo Wish"

"Hunger lies in the stomach of the beholder"

By Exclusively Speaking with Love'Nia Renee Published 29 days ago 1 min read
1
" May I Mayo Wish"
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

In the shadows of a broken home,

Where darkness reigned and sorrow roamed,

I found solace in a simple delight,

A mayo sandwich, my beacon bright.

With bread so stale and mayonnaise thin,

It was a taste of comfort, a touch of kin,

When hunger gnawed and tears did fall,

I found refuge in that sandwich small.

A mother lost to a demon's hold,

Heroin's grip, a story untold,

Left me to fend for myself each day,

With only a mayo sandwich to allay.

The tangy spread, the soft white bread,

Was a balm for a soul that often bled,

A reminder of a love long gone,

But still, in that sandwich, I found a bond.

It was more than a meal, it was a memory,

Of a childhood marred by tragedy,

But in that sandwich, I found a taste,

Of hope and resilience, in the face of waste.

So here's to the mayo sandwich, my childhood friend,

A humble snack on which I did depend,

It may have been simple, but it sustained,

Me through the darkness, when all seemed drained.

And though those days are now long past,

I'll never forget that sandwich, steadfast,

For in its taste, I found a light,

In the midst of a never-ending night.

surreal poetryheartbreakGratitudeCONTENT WARNINGCinquain
1

About the Creator

Exclusively Speaking with Love'Nia Renee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 days ago

    Ahhh....extremely touching. Most of us take for granted and haven't had to experience the beauty and comfort of your mayo sandwich. I love your grateful heart. And the beautiful lesson you just gave us all. Thank you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.