Poets logo

may 9th, 2023

in the kitchen

By daphne grayPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
(not /my/ puppy, cutie tho)

I think it was Joan Didion who said we write to figure out what we’re feeling.

I found the quote: “I write entirely to find out what I'm thinking, what I'm looking at, what I see and what it means. What I want and what I fear.”

I do the same. I’m no Joan Didion, but, God, how I love to write. I’m not even good at it most times. I mean, I think I’m a good writer, but when I write for myself, I do anything I want. I write like a child at times, like a British grandmother at others. I suppose there’s nothing really wrong with that, I just find it funny. 

I write in my various journals; I actually found two old ones and some loose-leaf diary entries at the bottom of my last desk drawer. I write in the Notes app on my phone, have since I was in 8th grade. 

I’ve been interrupted. I’m going to walk my dog.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

daphne gray

just a girl in this world who thinks a lot and writes a lot and some of it makes sense and some of it doesn't. enjoy nevertheless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.