Poets logo

Masks OFF, Eyes OPEN

A Big Mouth for the little Muzzled

By Nathaniel Michael GreenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
The real mask...

I will take a stance against the trance,

For the little ones who used to dance but now have to pant,

I will be a voice,

For girls and boys,

Who’ve lost their sense of choice,

I won’t tolerate my own ignorance,

At the cost of my children’s inheritance,

I won’t coward in the face of haters,

I won’t coward behind plates of paper,

I will be mask-less amongst the masked masses,

I will hold reason,

While those who oppose freedom,

Keep their faces covered with plastic,

I will speak out my truth from my booth within,

I will be my own boss no matter the cost,

No matter the loss or win,

For what does it profit a prophet to keep his mask on,

If his pretending is lending to the impending bomb,

I’m not a Christian, and I don’t like crosses,

But I’d rather be nailed to one than perpetuate this nonsense,

Disinformation abounds as world war three,

Can’t see?

Then open up your intuitive eye that resides beneath,

We either make history or history will make us,

We either learn from the past,

Or our little lads will blame us,

We suffocate our kids as if it’s not treason,

We willingly follow orders no matter what we claim to believe in,

Not me, not this free man anymore,

I’d rather be refused at the store,

My hunger pangs ignore,

Than be responsible for yet another sealed door,

Instead I will rise, as I strengthen my grounded thighs,

With three open eyes,

I will defy the lies of the buzzing flies,

For I see through the heat,

I see through the cold,

I see the state deep,

But I also see the old scrolls,

How bout you?

What will you tell your great kids,

How you stood between them and these blasted face bibs?

Or will you comply and watch their freedom die,

To in the end have your own kin look you straight in the eye,

As they ask you “Why”?

You didn’t testify,

To keep alive their high skies,

Just to justify your pride? ...

~Nathaniel Michael Green~

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Nathaniel Michael Green

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.