Poets logo

Mask

Hiding

By Sadie ColucciPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Mask

I wear this figurative mask

Every day of my life

It paints a picture of happiness

Instead of anxiety, stress n dislike

It shades me from the world

And shades the world from me

Wearing the mask protects myself

From all the disappointment that roams free

That mask allows for freedom

And I can be whomever I want to be

Hiding behind the mask I can be anybody

Its powerful nature is inexplicable

It holds such a forceful being

It saves me from reality

And hides my true feelings

The mask is a place holder

For all I feel inside my heart

It protects me from the truth

And all the judgment that tears me apart

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Sadie Colucci

I’m 41 years old. I graduated with a degree in psychology and work with children and adults on the autism spectrum. I love reading, writing, poetry, singing, dance and learning.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.