Poets logo

Many times I was young

Under a plum tree bursting with flowers

By Barbara M QuinnPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Many times I was young
Photo by Max Andrey on Unsplash

Many times I was young

Under a plum tree bursting with flowers

I am young, the cold wind retains the birds of prey

Snow is coming, walking in the snow

I must be young to make the pace easy

Not to crush the shadows cast by the flowers

The advantage of being young: not making memories

There is so little to remember, and occasionally I turn back

Footprints are still fresh and hot

Memories are in front of my eyes, and the hand I held

I just let go, and it's still hot

I open the window and invite the moon into my room

The round moonlight is cast into my cup of tea

I began to plant my hometown

Without seeing the soil, my hometown also takes root

A piece of white paper is young, my hometown is alive

Many times I am young

I squeeze my dreams into walking beasts

Let the sun go into the bowels of the yellow earth and digest

A proverb or a mantra that hangs in the corner of my mouth

And I laugh out loud and scare age away

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Barbara M Quinn

I hope you like my article.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.