Poets logo

Mannequin

"...are my ribbons all tied, is my hair in place..."

By Brenton FPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read

i can dress up really nice

and stand up very straight

pretending to be a people

grinding teeth loathing hate

i know how to tie a tie

and what cutlery to use

this is not a silly act

i really am this obtuse

polite conservations

wears me down like tired prey

the very thought of mingling

make me pallid, feeling grey

the endless, senseless babbling

pierces my amorphous home alone husk

fake side mouthed pre warmed nothings

belched into the air and fall as dust

i can smile and put on cheerful face

i can smile and put on a happy face

i can smile

can smile

smile

but i don’t have enough

don’t have enough faces

not for all these people

not for all these places

but i don’t have enough

don’t have enough me

not for all the me’s

that i think they want me to be

(and in case anyone tells you different)

it takes a lot of effort

to fit in

social commentary

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Very relatable 😫

  • Oh. My. God. This was so freaking relatable! It's like you wrote this about me! I loved your poem so much!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Amen. This is very funny but also really relatable. Fantastic work! I will run for the hills if I have to do small talk ! 😁

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!@!💕❤️❤️

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.