Poets logo

Man’s Best Friend

An alien’s introduction to Dogs

By Joe PattersonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Man’s Best Friend
Photo by Leo on Unsplash

An alien came to earth and asked me to show him our best ends. I introduced him to man’s best friend.

I told him our best friends are dogs and we keep them as pets. They stay at our homes, but when they’re sick we take them to vets.

We give them names, they give us love and they take us for rides when we put them on leashes and take them outside.

I also said they spend their whole lives with us happily and that they’re not just pets, but part of the family.

The alien had a look on his face staring at me like I was a disgrace with bad taste.

He asked me “if they’re your best friends why do you keep them on the leash? and force them outside like savage beasts?

He then asked “if they’re your best friends why can’t live indoors? Why are their lifespans shorter? Why can’t they live more?”

“If they are you best friends and that’s true to the letter, then why don’t you all starting treating your dogs better?”

I looked at him stunned and didn’t have a clue how to respond to everything he said that was true.

social commentaryslam poetry

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Julia Schulz9 months ago

    Another interesting take on the challenge!

  • He's sure right about that! Awesome poem!

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Sweet

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Love this entry so much 💖

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    AWWW!!! My entry was about dogs too!! 🐕 I LOVED this!

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.