Poets logo

Making me better

a poem

By Emma DatsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Making me better
Photo by Michael Marais on Unsplash

Making me better

I woke up early,

Looked around the gloom,

You weren’t there,

So, I went back to sleep,

Slept some more,

With my black out shades,

Keeping it dark,

Since the sun is up,

So ridiculously early,

It’s brighter too.

_____________

Another day stretches out,

Before me alone,

I walk by the river,

Exploring my soul,

Always looking, for you,

Anyone really that I know,

Just to have that connection,

To look into their eyes,

To know that I matter,

To someone at least.

____________ 

Late at night,

Whilst on my balcony,

I hear the yearning calls,

Of the curlews,

Looking for love,

Those echoing calls,

They touch my soul,

It cries, laments back,

I dream of you,

Here with me, at last.

_____________

Instead, I am alone,

That, finally is OK,

I have my balcony,

My view, my walks,

The river, some friends,

And my succulent plant.

It is thriving here,

As do I, that sun,

The weather,

And Brisbane herself,

Making me better.

surreal poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emma Datson

I am 40ish, medically interesting, Australian poet, who is finally using her voice. My superpower is my vocabulary. Dive in and read an eclectic mix of poetry and creative non-fiction, full of love, grief and hope. Light, love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.