Poets logo

Mainland

A Poem

By Fiachra O'Published 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

my friend from college

tried to get me out to Hawaii again

he left the mainland after graduation

and I haven’t said no

he’s someone that can really sell you on most things

like a one way flight to Hawaii

but I won’t go there without her

and I also don’t believe

that he got a flight for aroundfive hundred dollars

back to the east coast

and I miss my family

even without an ocean in the middle

Adrian is planning on building a tiny home

and told me about this documentary he watched

he sounds good

even though he’s drinking by himself

on a Monday

in a back alley food market

to be honest

I can’t really picture the scene

but I know where I’d be

if I was in Hawaii

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Fiachra O'

I like writing about thoughts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.