Poets logo

madness

A RubyRed Original Poem

By Ruby RedPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
2
Drawn by me (sorry about the poor quality)

it is the stillness

on the inside of their voices

it leaves me shuddering

but i know more

i feel more

i clutch the dancing shadows and breathe

breathe the warmth into their eyes

cry the soul into their heart

until they see more than what i can

and give more than the others ever would

my shadow-friends shatter my mad mind

sewing together tapestries of sunlight

until my bruised, lonely mad mind

is accompanied by soulless harmonies

and the warming joys of kindness.

that is all i have ever needed,

and so the twitching threads of sunlight

prick my skin and swallow me.

so i smile for them.

Mental Healthsocial commentaryFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Ruby Red

"All the world's a stage, And all the men and women merely players: They have their exits and their entrances; And one man in his time plays many parts." - William Shakespeare

Consider this a doorway to my heart and soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani21 days ago

    Another great poem!

  • Always keep up the good work.

  • An amazing poem! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.