Poets logo

Lunacy

The full summer moon brought grief into focus

By Sherry Lowell-LewisPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Lunacy
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

Moon

In my dream

I wake to a crushing pressure on my chest.

It wants me to stop.

Breathing.

Being.

It. What hates me?

Is it outside, trying to get in?

Or inside, trying to get out?

I struggle to catch some air.

I fight without moving.

What does it want?

I claw my way to consciousness,

Breathing now, in and out,

In rhythm with hands clutching, releasing balls of sheets.

Heart fluttering, grasping at normalcy,

Whatever that is, at 3am.

Through the bedroom window, the full moon bathes me in its crazy light.

Reality begins to overtake whatever that other thing was/is.

Mom is gone.

Sitting up, I see her, across the pool.

Watching, loving, caring.

This is what lunacy is.

--Sherry Lowell-Lewis, Jan. 1, 2023

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Sherry Lowell-Lewis

Actor, writer, voice-over artist, teacher, author, mother and Grammy of 4. I've done a lot. I grew up in Bolivia, Laos and Taiwan. Married 25 years, widowed. Please read my stuff and leave a comment! Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.