Poets logo

Luck

A throw of the dice

By Katie Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Luck
Photo by Dustin Humes on Unsplash

Finding luck.

Does it even exist?

It must for some. How easily some slide through their lives, hopping from lily pad to lily pad. Always landing perfectly, never a second thought to the possibility of it being any other way.

Oh I’ve heard it all, how you have to make your own. As if it’s a recipe. Just open up my trusty old Betty Crocker cook book and mix me up a batch. 400 degrees, forty minutes.

Were it only that easy.

Count your blessings, they say, you have more than you know. How about The Stones song “You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, well, you might find, you get what you need.”

Tis true isn’t it, for the most part anyway.

We get what we need.

As to the rest, I believe it’s a matter of perspective. Even today I have been told how lucky I am. In a jest full manner, of course.

So I shall stop looking for it, it is an elusive, fickle, creature at best.

Perhaps then it will search me out, with any luck.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I guess no matter how unlucky we are, we would always have something to be grateful for. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.