Poets logo

Loyalty

Dialogue poem

By Angie the Archivist šŸ“ššŸŖ¶Published 5 days ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Loyalty
Photo by niu niu on Unsplash

Can you to do something for me Ruthie?

Sure, anythingā€¦ what do you need?

Can you to get me a lawyerā€¦ quickly?

Why? Whatā€™s happened? Look out, if someoneā€™s dared hurt you!

Settle down! Iā€™m not hurt, yetā€¦

Well, what do you need a lawyer for? Donā€™t fretā€¦

Iā€™ve been arrested for murder

What! Thatā€™s absurd! You wouldnā€™t hurt a fly!

Well actually, I didā€¦ and much worse than a fly!

There must be some mistakeā€¦ youā€™re so wonderfulā€¦ it makes no sense

So you say ā€” but, like anyone ā€” I have my momentsā€¦

Okay, Iā€™ll admitā€¦ maybe once or twice, youā€™ve been less than perfect!

Do you want to hear my story or not?

If you insistā€¦

Yesā€¦ I really must persist!

I have noticed you havenā€™t been yourself lately

You know how Bennyā€™s been pestering me greatly?

WHAT!!! That creep! What did he do?

He just wouldnā€™t leave me aloneā€¦ he came around home

ļ»æSo you killed him? Good! He was asking for it!

I shoved him away ā€” he fell backwards. Hit his headā€¦

ļ»æI still say he had it comingā€¦

He was gone in the blink of my eye

Donā€™t worry ā€” we can sort this ā€” Iā€™m coming over, Iā€™ll get rid of his body

Too late! I called 000ā€¦ he couldnā€™t be saved

Well that was obvious from the moment you first laid eyes on him!

Iā€™m at the Police Station ā€” just find me a good lawyer

Donā€™t worryā€¦ youā€™ll be alrightā€¦ as you always are

I feel so badā€¦ how could I kill him?

Youā€™ve done nothing wrong ā€” youā€™ll get off

Weā€™ll seeā€¦ my chances look slim

FriendshipFor Funfact or fiction

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist šŸ“ššŸŖ¶

Addicted to reading, especially fiction and poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! šŸ˜³

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

Painting Pandemonium Top Story February 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Esala Gunathilake4 days ago

    Great going Angie. Loved it.

  • Wow. Great dialogue poem! šŸ˜ŠšŸ’•ā¤ļø

  • D.K. Shepard4 days ago

    Great dialogue poem, Angie! So conversational but with such a dramatic topic of conversation!

  • Hannah Moore4 days ago

    Oh my. Manslaughter perhaps?

  • Oh no, I really hope they can get a good lawyer and that it would be classified as self defense. Really loved your take on this!

  • Despite the unsettling revelation, there is still a hint of support and willingness to listen, the dialogue leaves us curious to hear the accused character's story, adding suspense and engaging the reader's interest, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 days ago

    Angie I love this conversation between friends, because without loyal friends you really don't have much!! Too bad one of them will be going away for a while.... šŸ˜…

  • John Cox5 days ago

    Sounds like this guy was a liability alive or dead! Great work, DK!

  • Andrea Corwin 5 days ago

    Oh no, fingers crossed!!! We all need loyal friends....nice job.

Angie the Archivist šŸ“ššŸŖ¶Written by Angie the Archivist šŸ“ššŸŖ¶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.