Poets logo

Loving Oliver Part II

11/11/21

By Emery PinePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Loving Oliver Part II
Photo by Silvestri Matteo on Unsplash

11/11/21

His name was mine,

And it tasted like raspberries on my tongue.

It was bittersweet and reminded me of my childhood.

I can’t tell you what any of this means.

Basically, it felt like home.

It reminded me of squirrels and homemade swings.

It reminded me of what happiness was and what dreams could have been.

His name was like fireworks—

Bright and perfect and beautiful.

But fireworks only last a few seconds,

Kind of like his love.

Beautiful things never last long.

Beautiful things always burn too quickly.

Beautiful things wilt away like flowers.

They die.

Their light goes out.

They go numb and cold.

But his name reminded me of raspberries and cow manure in ways I don’t know how to explain.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.