Poets logo

Loves (Per)Versions

Caught between versions, was there space to hide?

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

There's a difference between you and me;

A difference so subtle only the wise may see.

When you say I love you, while it may be so;

Conditional love is temporary in nature - a gift that can only be borrowed.

Blinded to the distorted illusion that broken hearts create;

While promises of the broken soul become lies, leaving the hopeful sedate.

I know that I confused you, I know I gave you hell.

For I sparked fear inside of you and I watched you repel.

For but a few short moments I experienced being in love,

But for the most part I loved you just as you were; choosing to ignore the things you fell short of.

I understand the pain you felt for I was never clear;

When I said I loved you, I let you hear what you wanted to hear.

You thought you were perfect, that you could do no wrong;

What I actually meant was, I see you in your brokenness and I want to tag along.

I wanted you to know that there was no need to hide.

Yet, as it turns out, hearing your I love you resulted in a very different ride.

When I say I love you, I mean every word.

Free of conditions and broken visions. Leaving the moments ungoverned and the lines unblurred.

Because I only loved you, I failed to fall apart;

For I was not blinded to the selfish basis of your heart.

A time will come where I will choose to give my heart again;

Know that there will be little difference between you and him, except for his own ability to love without refrain.

For I am not broken and I have nothing to hide,

So from this point on I will make choices that reflect my inside.

May you find clarity on love and its versions,

For no-one will fall in-love with you because of your loves perversions.

sad poetryslam poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.