Poets logo

Love Stricken Malady

A poem

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Love Stricken Malady
Photo by Roberta Sorge on Unsplash

As I sip this glass of wine

And the red liquid swirls

On the inside of my mouth

Leaving its shade on my lips and tongue

I think of my love for you

How I wanted it to saturate your tastebuds

And flow directly to your heart

*

I longed for you to desire it

The way you craved darkly colored grapes

Biting into each one and having its juices

Drip down your palms

Leaving them sticky for me and no one else

*

I became the perfect combination of

Bitter, sweet, sour, and salty

So every time I poured myself out

Like a glass of Washington’s best Cabernet Sauvignon

You wouldn’t resist me

*

I watched you drink its richness

Savoring every drop

An explosion of spices, black cherry,

Blueberries and cocoa on the tongue

You never said it was too much

Once there was nothing left, you claimed you had enough

*

Preferring a combination of flavors that were lighter on the palate

You said I had become too overpowering

While the stain of me was still present on your lips

Before you rubbed it off

*

I realized I was the only one in love

Did you like me at all?

*

You overindulged till it made you sick

Blaming me for your malady

Now I am the one left with the rosy tint on my lips

Love made a temporary fool of me

......................

Thank you for reading!

This piece was originally published in Medium.

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.