Poets logo

Love Stories Aren't For Everyone

fictional story poem by Mel

By MelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The clock read 5:03pm.

35 missed calls;

all from you.

What was it now?

How much of my heart did you

seriously want to break,

now?

You told me you loved me.

I trusted you.

You showed me just how much you

loved me.

I believed you.

You brought me so many gifts,

saying how they represented our love.

I accepted them.

But no gifts,

no proof,

no promises,

were enough to fix the

damage that had already

been done.

You told me you loved me.

You promised to never, ever

hurt me.

You brought me gifts,

surprises,

telling me that everything would change.

But all those words,

and promises,

and gifts,

never stopped the pain of

you.

They never stopped

the bruises from forming on my skin,

the marks from growing throughout my body,

the cracks forming inside my heart;

they never stopped.

The clock read 5:04pm.

Your number flashed upon the screen.

I reached around the phone,

picking it up,

and pressed the 'lock phone' button

on the side.

"No more,"

I said to myself,

"You won't hurt me anymore."

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.