Poets logo

Love of Darkness

Colors they can mean more to us then we realize.

By Erica RosePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Colors, they can mean more to us then we realize. They can hold meanings and memories that warm our hearts, they can be painful and dark. Today I'll give you my poem for my love of color even with the pain brought.

Love of Darkness

Darkness like a soft echo calling the soul,

The color of the night sky calling me home.

Black it will be when I close my eyes,

Black it will be when I'm laid to rest.

A comfort I can never forget,

A peace I always feel.

When the waters filled my lungs,

Darkness took the pain away.

Returning me back to my home,

With it's guiding stars.

A glitter of night,

A ravens soft call echoes.

The passages of the soul,

By the pupils of the eyes starring.

Protecting my fair skin it rests,

Hiding the beauty beneath.

Just as the earths soil,

Hides the darkest fertile soil below.

Left in the traces of fire burned,

Black remains and Blows away.

Just like me ,

One day I'll also blow away.

Black is the color I will always love. When I was young I had a near death experience and all I could feel was a burning sensation coursing through me. Then it got dark and the pain disappeared. I was saved. When I look at people I see their eyes as the portals to their souls and all they are. One thing is always the same though no matter who we are is the black pupil staring back in the center of the eye. The calming night sky that we all look up to with stars that can guide us any where is black. Ravens one of the smartest birds, are a beautiful black with a blue hue. Even clothing there is something about the color that makes you feel calm. It can also be painful, as black is the color you wear to funerals to say goodbye. It's a color of emotions happiness, sadness, pain, and joy.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Erica Rose

Just a mom writing about strange things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.