Poets logo

Love Lost

A Lament of heartbreak

By kasey greshamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

My heart was above the clouds soaring gracefully like a dove.

But then you shot it down

By ripping away your love.

Spiraling to the earth like a falling star, breaking apart and burning, The pieces of my heart.

Crashing into the earth, hitting hard upon impact,

Creating a massive hole where your love was once intact.

I just wish that you could feel this pain, because then you'd take it back and not break my heart again.

How is it I still love you, after the damage you have done?

How could you bare to do this to the heart you had won?

You chased me till you caught me and promised me forever,

You got down on one knee, and made it your endeavor.

Now I'm on my knees begging you to stay.

Now I'm on my knees praying for a way.

How could this happen? It's something I thought you'd never do.

You made a vow to me but I guess it wasn't true.

Everytime I see you, you don't know how bad it hurts.

For you I'd do anything, even laps around the earth.

I've cried a thousand tears, and prayed a hundred prayers, and kept on being faithful and showing you I care.

I don't know if you realize it or if you choose not to care,

But even after everything, I'll always be there.

Some may call me stupid for trying to hold on, and say the love you once claimed is forever dead and gone.

But dull as it may be, my hope is still alive, that you'll give me back your heart, and bring mine back to life.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.