Poets logo

Love Letters To Olympia and A Story With Romantic Poetics

An Interview With a Growing Instagram Poet

By Belle DenkaPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I first came across the Instagram poet Love Letters To Olympia, I was attracted to it by the rawness of her work. It was nice to have something you can completely relate to even if I couldn't relate to the situation it was written about. She also has an interesting habit of leaving notes with her poetry on them in cities she is in. You can understand why I was ecstatic when she agreed to answer a few questions.

Belle Denke: What drove you to poetry as opposed to other art forms?

Love Letters to Olympia: I have always written as a way to deal with my feelings and stress. I started writing a lot of poetry after my last relationship ended. We decided not to talk to each other but I had all these feelings and things I wanted to say. It only made sense for me to turn to poetry because I feel like it's the only way I can really express myself.

Your username seems personal. Did you pick that name for a specific reason?

I did actually! The relationship I mentioned, he moved to Olympia, Washington. My account started out with all the things I wanted to say, or feeling, that I couldn't tell him.

Did you start using writing as an outlet for other things?

I use it as an outlet for everything. Sometimes I find that friends and/or family get tired of hearing the same thing over and over again. Same issues, same complaints, same heart ache. It helps me because I can work out problems within myself, ask questions, and give honest answers. It's cathartic and I find it very helpful.

If you could go back to your early poet self, what would you tell her as she began to write?

Please, please do not give up. I've given up writing a million times, thinking I'd never be good enough, and that no one would care, but you are good enough, keep going.

What advice would you give to a girl who is falling in love?

Be careful! Love is a strange and wonderful thing. Knowing love, feeling love, it's incredible. It's more than you ever thought it would be, more beautiful than any movie or any story depicted. As much as I write about heartache, it's because I was in love. When you find it, and it's real, hold on, because it can be so fleeting. Fall, fall all the way into their heart.

Advice for the broken hearted?

Keep moving. Try new things, get better at the things you already know. Then the ache will fade. Progression is the way I found to go forward.

Advice for people afraid to love?

If you haven't found love and it shows up unexpectedly, embrace it. Love is extraordinary. And if you've been burned, and you're afraid to be burned, and you're afraid to be in love again, try to be open. You really, honestly never know. It's mysterious and chaotic, but when it finds you, or you find it, taming it comes easy.

You leave little bits of your poetry in all the cities you visit. Why did you stop doing this?

Aw yea. That's one of my favorite things! I just really loved the idea of leaving notes. If I found one, I know how much it would mean to me. I really hope that when people find them, that they make them feel some way. Words really affect me. I want words to affect others. I know what it's like to read something that moves you. I hope to do that for others.

Has anyone ever contacted you saying they found your poetry?

One person! There's a coffee shop by my house I visit frequently and I always leave one there. They scrolled through my page until they found the one they found and commented it. Honestly, it was the most exciting thing. I want to go to new places just to leave more.

What is your biggest goal/ dream with your poetry and your writing in general?

I didn't really have a goal when I started writing poetry on here. I think what is most amazing, and what continues to be amazing, is that I sometimes get messages about how I've moved an individual and that's the most rewarding thing. Long term, I'd love to be published to reach even more people who are struggling through the same things. Then they know they're not alone.

Did you develop a style through poetry or did you already have it because of other things?

Since I've started writing poetry, my style definitely developed as I've explored it. I've really been able to find what I like and what works for me. If I go a long time without writing I have to figure it out again, but it is a process I enjoy.

If you could leave one piece of poetry for some brokenhearted girl, which would it be?

just because your heart is in piecesdoes not mean a shard cannot beatfor someone new.
inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Belle Denka

A girl with too much to say but too stubborn not to say it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.