Poets logo

Love is Tender

The Butcher

By Ramie LewisPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
2

Like a master butcher you trimmed me down,

Reduced me from the wholesale piece,

Sectioned me and discarded the top cuts indiscriminately,

You devoured the tenderloin and left me spineless.

An insidious act of betrayal,

Was it? Is it a blatant disregard for me?

You have been cutting away chunks of me seemingly before my very eyes.

I didn’t realize I was bleeding out,

Until you reduced me to the bare minimum.

Like a skirt steak I wasn’t very appealing.

I couldn’t connect with my reflection.

Who I had become was unrecognizable,

The skeletal remains of me pulsing with madness.

An empty vessel tarnished and chipped.

Still sharpening your knives,

You continue to slice and take every last morsel of me,

But I found nourishment outside of your realm.

To not recognize oneself to the point of despair,

To be overwhelmed by an unbearable ache in your soul,

A darkness that paralyzes everything you do and think,

That is the moment at which one admits defeat and yields,

Or the moment that one sees a spark, hears a whisper in the wind,

And is compelled to fight to be whole again.

You can take off your apron now and launder it for the next one.

Your work with me is done,

And unbeknownst to you I am done with you,

With patience and serenity, I have healed and nourished my power reserve,

I am all Ribeye steak, reinforced and wrapped in layers of tenderloin,

And I will never render myself to be slaughtered by anyone again.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Ramie Lewis

Science geek that tapped into my artsy, creative energy.

The magic and power of words define and create our world and brings me joy.

" Life isn't what you are given, it's what you create, what you conquer and what you aim to achieve".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ramie Lewis (Author)about a month ago

    I am so pleased that you found it powerful and grateful for your read. Hugs are one of my favorite things, so thank you (smiling inward), I send sunshine and love your way!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. The ending was soooo powerful! We should never allow anyone to do this to us! Loved your poem so much. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.