Poets logo

Love From Across the Room

For my love, E.S. MacKenzie IV "Spencer"

By Michelle MackenziePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Neon lights glowed, music blasting, slightly muffled by the aged walls

My eyes danced from face to face, as I made my way into the old bar

From across the room, before landing on your eyes

Eyes that sparkled green with flecks of gold drew me in, as if by a magnetic attraction

Kind but lonely, sweet but sad, tall and handsome, the most beautiful man I'd ever seen

Sipping on bubbly cola, the conversation flowed naturally between us

Connecting over our mutual love of Jeeps, off we went riding through the night in your green military Jeep

The warm Florida night air whipped through my hair, butterflies in my belly, I felt so free. It was beautiful and I knew I was falling in love with you then.

Spencer MacKenzie IV 2013

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Michelle Mackenzie

You can find me curled up in my hammock, book in hand, on the crystal clear spring fed rivers. I've always loved to read and write, so I decided to post the things I've written. I'm excited to read your creations as well, I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.