Poets logo

Love For An Awe Inspiring Stranger

As they beat back life’s constant obstacles and come out on top

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

It’s with a bleeding aching heart that I watch,

A total stranger struggle to overcome adversity,

I feel this incessant need to hold them close,

Sheltering them until they land on their feet.

***

I dream of watching them as they succeed,

Knowing the inner strength it takes to do so,

They fall, but never for long, they’re determined,

Not to be beaten and never, ever to give up.

***

My dream would be to shield them from the blows,

Because life is going to test them to their limits,

Tears fill my eyes, there’s so much I want to do,

To help them rise to the occasion, they’re a winner.

***

I want to tell them to continue to hang in there,

My confidence strengthened as I watch in awe,

As they once more stand up, stand tall, head high,

With nothing left but the pride on their face.

***

They’ve been kicked, bullied, spat on by life,

But they continue to fight for their dreams,

With nothing left but the love in their heart,

Fighting, never taking no as the final answer.

***

I am filled with so much hurt and sorrow as I watch,

Wanting, no actually needing, to take on their pain,

Knowing they don’t deserve the misfortunes,

They’ve experience throughout their short life.

***

I need to turn away, the pain in my chest suffocating,

Wishing I could fix it all, change their circumstances,

The injustice of it all, they shouldn’t have to fight so hard,

To live their dreams, to succeed in their goals, to live.

***

Tears course through the saddened tracks on my face,

My heart swelling with love for an awe inspiring stranger,

As they beat the odds, miraculously overcoming,

All that is barring their way, as they rise up and win!

*************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreakinspirationalsocial commentary
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Michelle Renee Kidwell2 years ago

    Such a beautiful poem…

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    your empathy shines through in this one. Well done.

  • This was very relatable as I always have the strong urge to fix people

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.