Poets logo

Love Buzz

Trepidation. Euphoria. Kinship. Despair

By stowballPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
20

In the middle of the room

You were there, seductive

I tried not to stare

But was mesmerised, transfixed

My friends, some cheering, some slurring

Begging me to meet you

I held you close

Your warm, bubbly personality

Wrapped tight around

And drew me in

Enveloping like alchemy

You made me soar

I’d never felt so alive

From that moment on

We were one

Our lives, forever entwined

My friends, ecstatic in celebration

Tomorrow came

We met again

Another day

Another night

We’d spend

In bed

In the kitchen

On the couch

Anywhere

It didn’t matter

I needed no one else

Just you and I

We journeyed the world

Every day was a rush

We were invincible

My friends, ignored

My love absorbed

Yet as the months flew by

You demanded more

I tried my best

Always keeping score

Days became nights

Fear turned into fights

I grew weary and bleary

But still itched for more

My friends, now all gone

Untrusting, alone

A bleached, sullen husk

Filthy and bare

Diseased

Disfigured

In torturous pain

Yet I’d give anything

To reignite that first flame

heartbreak
20

About the Creator

stowball

I design: digital, craft, board games.

I write: code, fiction, reviews.

I play: games, guitar, football.

See my: complete Best Of Switch indies list

Say hi: twitter.com/stowball

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.