Poets logo

Love Bites

Confessions of a Vampire

By Erika PotapPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

When you really love someone, that love lasts forever...

it never goes away, never

leaves.

It's with you all the time,

like a

shadow,

like a ghost, it

haunts your every move.

It never forgets, even when

you wish to forget it.

It doesn't allow your mind to forgive, it

never looks the other way

it's just there,

clinging to your skin like a leech, Sucking the life out of you from right under your nose

drop by drop.

It robs you of everything,

starting with your

innocence

as it rapes you of fairy tale endings.

It's a rare occurrence,

but

once you've had the pleasure and pain of meeting love,

you will never be the same.

No matter how many times you may think you have found solace or happiness,

it is completely irrelevant — you already know what it's all about, and how it will all turn out.

You can never truly be happy when

the hole in your heart is so heavy you can barely stand as it pulls you to the ground.

My heart aches of pains the world knows nothing about.

My mind has left me long ago,

to be with him.

Even though he has forgotten me,

my mind could not care less,

it follows him around like a blind and loyal puppy.

How could he have loved me and let me go?

Not fought for me?

Not protect me?

He made me

love him, then pierced his fangs into my soul ,

like a thirsty vampire out for the hunt.

He contaminated me with his love and

then left me to fend for myself,

alone, with nothing but memories of what we once were,

memories that continue to haunt me, to torment me regardless of how hard I try to forget him,

to bury him far away…

And all for what?

For nothing, because I am weak, not strong enough like him.

I admire him for that strength,

for his ability to leave me in the past and go on as if we never existed.

That chapter in my life may have ended long ago, and I may have loved many times since then,

but I am still that vampire.

It is me who walks the streets at night, while all the world is dreaming,

And it is me who is living this eternal nightmare awake, alone….

and without his forsaken love.

Starving inside,

because I do not want

to be

this vampire he made me

become

once

upon a time.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Erika Potap

I know a thing about a thing or two. Believe in the power of the universe. hope my words can somehow make you smile, even if only on the inside. Questions, thoughts or comments?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.