Poets logo

Lost Loves

I’ll Be On My Way

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Lost Loves
Photo by Мария Волк on Unsplash

If we pass on the street

I will tip my hat to you

Pass swift, quiet greetings

Then be on my way

***

Almost as strangers

With so little in common

So little interaction

Lost in worlds of our own

***

As but another face in the crowd

A neighbour from childhood

The same year in high school

Long lost on life’s journey

***

Yet behind it all

A depth of emotion

I don’t want to peer into

And can never escape

***

We were best friends once

And lost lovers too

Who in our early twenties

Soothed one another’s pain

***

We shared a warm bed

Arms around each other nightly

Making love until daybreak

You were my whole world

***

But then, we drifted apart

As best friends often do

When love slips away

And our hearts no longer love

***

But now, so many years later

As almost strangers in a crowd

I often think of what might have been

And I wonder if you do too

***

But for now,

I’ll tip my hat to you

And quietly mumble greetings

And keep my thoughts to myself

And be on my way

heartbreak
12

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.