Poets logo

Lost in Night

again.

By CaitlinPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Stand up and look out to the starry sky

At the pearly moon shining white and blue

There’s an escape somewhere out there, baby

But in here your back’s broke

and maybe your heart too

I lost my way right at the finish line

The dark woods called and led me astray

A monster lives here, curled up and eyes gleaming red

But he lets me hide

and wash the numbness away

There’s a road down by the water’s edge—

Overgrown and cracked like a scab

It could take me back if I wanted it to

Let’s just pretend it’s not there, shall we?

I’ve met you here before, I think

You were wild and craning against your old home

You sang a slow song and cried to the inky sky,

but time circled, as it does,

and then you were gone

Beat your fists against my bleeding chest,

Wash your eyes with salt,

bury yourself in it,

bury me

Run the car off the bridge and tell me how it feels

I’ll lean down and whisper quietly,

you’ll never be free

There’s more to this life than chasing the night

But water can’t flow backwards, not for you

So, yeah, maybe it chokes you on the way down,

and maybe you think you deserve it too

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Caitlin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.