Poets logo

Lost in My Own Mind

A thought of many

By ChezaLunaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I feel lost inside my own mind.

​Sometimes there are too many thoughts running rampant in my head that I can’t make heads or tails of them. I don’t know which way is up or how to keep myself from drowning amongst the waves of emotion. I’m surrounded by a stampede of noise and images, steady reaching out trying to hold onto any one idea, to make sense of any once concept. My heart races, my vision blurs, I get dizzy and lose my grasp on reality.

What is reality anyways? Is it the same for everyone? Or is it different for each person based on their own perception of life? How can we be sure that one person’s reality isn’t a fantasy to the person sitting next to them? Will we ever really know?

​At other times my mind goes blank. There is nothing in my head but a dark void, expanding throughout all of space and time. It blocks out the clutter of noises and lights that typically fill the space, bringing peace in times of loneliness. But with the loneliness comes sadness. Instead of standing in a cavity of nothingness, I begin to fall. Like a hypnic jerk when you’ve just dozed off, except I’m not jolted awake from this feeling. It lingers as I fall faster and deeper until suddenly I crash into a pool filled with quiet panic.

The pool is the only moment of true calm in this roller coaster I call life. Everything meshes together. The quick thoughts and bright lights meet the dark void and for only a moment of clarity, my mind feels “normal”. Or what I would assume is my perception of normal…

excerpts
2

About the Creator

ChezaLuna

I’m just a wife and mom of 2 trying to make it in life. I write in hopes of making sense of the chaos in my mind. Feedback is always welcome! Please like, subscribe, tip, share, pledge or however this site works🤗 thank you for your time!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books2 years ago

    I love it 🖤 very relatable

  • This one is exceptional.

  • A.2 years ago

    Cherish those moments of clarity. For me, I've found that with a routine of morning meditation and regular pausing throughout the day, I can reduce the "noise" and increase the clear moments. It's an amazing feeling. Your description of the experience is spot on (for me, at least) - thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.